feedback
Home

Difference in Office 365


In almost all ways, your email and calendaring activities in the new Office 365 will be the same as they are from our on-premise Exchange email service.

Some differences you will see once your account is migrated to Office 365:

 

 

 

  • Larger mailbox: 50 GB instead of 1GB
  • Deleted Items folder: Messages remain in the Deleted Items folder for 30 days and are automatically deleted.  If you wanted to keep your deleted messages, you should keep it in your Inbox, archive it or put it in another folder instead of clicking delete.
  • Ability to send huge amounts of email: See below
 Outgoing Messages Limit
   
Outlook Web App 25 MB
Outlook 2010 or 2013** 20 MB
Other Desktop Clients
(Mac mail, Thunderbird, etc)
25 MB
   
Incoming Messages  
All Clients 25 MB

 

  • Server management for email and voicemail is now provided by Microsoft as a cloud-based service, instead of BYU-H IT Administrators (i.e. server upgrades, patches)
  • New URL for Outlook Web App:  http://go.byuh.edu


Some temporary limitations until all of BYUH.EDU accounts have been moved to Office 365:

  • If you view people's free/busy time or have shared calendars:
    You'll be able to see anyone free/busy availability when you schedule meetings, whether their accounts have been moved or not. In addition, in Outlook, you will be able to view shared calendars whether the person's account has been moved or not. With Outlook Web App, you'll only be able to view shared calendars if the person's account has been moved
     
  • If you manage other people's calendars:
    You'll only be able to manage the calendars of people whose accounts have also been moved to Office 365. You will still be able to see anyone's free/busy availability when you schedule meetings, whether their accounts have been moved or not.
  • If you are a delegate or have delegates (sharing email):
    BYUH IT Administrator's process will move accounts that currently have delegate relationship with you, so those accounts are moved at the same time as yours. you won't be able to establish new delegate relationships with any colleagues whose accounts have not yet been migrated.

 

NOTE: If you are sharing calendars or sharing your email (delegates), please notify your IT Administrators so that all of you will be migrated at the same time.